World Leaders All Set For East Asia Summit

Indonesian Stocks Rise Highest In Two Years On Government Stimulus

November 20, 2015 –  The 10th East Asia Summit (EAS), attended by representatives of 18 different countries, will take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from November 21-22.

The summit will bring together Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.

Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev will represent Russia at the event.

The sides plan to discuss regional and international security, the fight against extremism and illegal migration, a Russian governmental source told RIA Novosti.

Other issues up for discussion include financial and economic stability, energy cooperation, regional healthcare issues, as well as the development of free-trade zones in the Pacific Rim region.

The sides also plan to sign a declaration to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the East Asia Summit. Joint statements will be signed on issues such as maritime cooperation, the fight against extremism, strengthening healthcare systems and boosting information security.

The mechanism of the East Asian Summit was created in 2005 on the initiative of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Initially, the forum was attended by representatives of 16 countries. The format of the summit was expanded to include the United States and Russia in 2011.